Top three winners of the Spring 2013 Pearson Mechanics Challenge Exam. From left: Dr. Dan Melconian, Yinwei "Charlie" Zhang (2nd place), Xing Zhao (1st place), Gabriel Apfel (3rd place), Department Head Dr. George Welch and Dr. David Toback.

HEAD OF THE CLASS: Physics Honors 2013 Mechanics Scholars

May 24, 2013
"The Scholar Program, which was started in 2002 by Dr. David Toback, is meant to provide an extra challenge for those students who are excelling in our introductory mechanics course, Physics 218. It gives the really gifted students a chance to 'strut their stuff' and see how they compare against the very best at A&M."
Dan Melconian, assistant professor of physics and astronomy and current organizer of the Mechanics Scholar Program