A culture of excellence requires diverse perspectives and collaboration as well as input, participation and support from many different sources and viewpoints.

Just as the College of Science represents the scientific backbone of Texas A&M University, diversity and its promotion have long served as the unspoken underpinning of our core missions of teaching, research and service.

As a college, we pledge to welcome and support individuals from all backgrounds, respecting and reflecting differences in discipline, national origin, race, ethnicity, age, ability, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, religion and beliefs.

Learn more about diversity related resources at Texas A&M.

Diversity and Equity Grant Programs  Leadership in Equity and Diversity (LEAD) Award Primary Care Travel Grant

In an effort to improve the overall learning and working environment for all members of our College of Science community, we welcome your feedback on any aspect you think could improve learning and working environment.


The diversity committee meets the fourth Wednesday of each month at 2 p.m.  If you have a question or an idea and would like to attend the meeting to discuss with the committee, please contact Dr. Derya Akleman.

Diversity Committee Members

Statistician Dr. Derya Akleman

Derya Akleman, Chair
Assistant Dean for Diversity and College Climate
College of Science

Jennifer Bradford smiles at the camera

Jennifer Bradford
Program Coordinator
Department of Biology

Cyclotron staff Leigh Gathings

Leigh Gathings
Senior Research Instrumentation Specialist
Cyclotron Institute


Statistician Dr. Irma Hernandez-Magallanes

Irma Hernandez-Magallanes
Instructional Assistant Professor
Department of Statistics

Mathematician Dr. Laura Matusevich

Laura Matusevich
Department of Mathematics

Texas A&M biologist Dr. James Smith

James Smith
Department of Biology

Texas A&M Department of Multicultural Services Assistant Director Dr. Marisa Suhm

Marisa Suhm
Assistant Director
Multicultural Services

Texas A&M mathematics graduate student Elise Walker

Elise Walker
Graduate Student
Department of Mathematics

Dr. Robert Webb smiles for the camera

Robert Webb
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Chemist Dr. Coran Watanabe

Coran Watanabe
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry